top of page

Why I love Celiac Advocacy



I have an auto-immune disease called Celiac Disease (CD), and I love learning more about it. Over the last four years, I have leapt at every single chance to broaden my knowledge of the subject.

Learning more about CD is important because so many people around the world have this disease, and if left undiagnosed, it can lead to gut cancer and more. I also want to help recently diagnosed celiacs realize that the disease is not the end of the world and that there are a lot of options for gluten-free food. In addition to this, I love science and learning about the world, and while studying CD, I would also learn about biology.

The main reason why I feel so passionate about helping the CCF is Celiac Camp. I have always loved Celiac Camp. I started going when I was nine, and I still go four years later. Camp helped normalize summer camp experiences. I met other people that were just like me and have had the same experiences and challenges as me. I always look forward to those three and a half days that are consistently fun, exciting, and always filled with delicious food. I want this experience to be available nationwide.

I remembered that I had heard about Celiac Camp at a gluten free and allergy free expo booth. I decided to volunteer at the booth. When I got there I realized that I was the only kid at the booth.

The Annual Day in the Park Fundraiser is for all the camps that the Taylor Family Foundation runs. The focus is on children and families in critical need, including kids who cannot attend normal camp. These camps serve kids with chronic and life-threatening illnesses and disabilities such as autism, deafness, and pediatric cancers. At the Fundraiser, I meet donors and answer their questions about Celiac Camp. I help them understand what it means to be a celiac, and how important it is to have a four day period where parents and kids can feel safe knowing that the environment is completely celiac friendly.

I am passionate about learning as much as I can so that I can share the information with others and better advocate for celiacs. For example, I recently watched a series of informatory videos about the statistics and diagnosis rate, nutrition, labeling, drug development, and celiac genetic markers. I plan to use this information in the creation of short videos for the CCF youth board.


bottom of page